7th Annual Southern Bioproducts & Renewable Energy Conference

Post-Conference Materials

Home  |   Agenda / Presentations  |   Attendees  |   Poster Abstracts  |   Scholarship Winner  |   Sponsors

Click on titles or their presenter to download presentation slides.

To view bios of our presenters and abstracts of their presentations, Download the conference program

Monday – April 14, 2008

8:30 a.m. Registration - Prefunction Lobby
Exhibitor and Poster Set-up - Ballroom
10:00 a.m. Opening Session - Meeting Room 1-5
Conference Overview – Brent Bailey
Welcome – Mayor John Robert Smith, City of Meridian
10:30 a.m. Opening Keynote Message
Dr. Mark Jenner, Biomass Rules
11:00 a.m. Policymaker Forum
Moderator – Brent Bailey
Marie Thomas, Office of Governor Haley Barbour
Commissioner Lester Spell, Mississippi Dept. of Agriculture and Commerce
Commissioner Brandon Presley, Mississippi Public Service Commission
Senator Perry Lee, Mississippi Legislature
Representative David Norquist, Mississippi Legislature
12:00 a.m. Luncheon/Keynote - Ballroom
Introduction - Dr. Vance Watson
Gale Buchanan, USDA Under Secretary for Research, Education, and Economics
1:30 p.m. Biomass Feedstocks Forum - Meeting Room 1-5
Moderator – Liam Leightley
Wayne Tucker, Mississippi Institute of Forest Inventory
Joe Bouton, The Samuel Roberts Noble Foundation
Eugene Columbus, Mississippi State University
3:00 p.m. Break with Exhibitors - Ballroom
3:30 p.m. Biomass Harvest and Collection Forum - Meeting Room 1-5
Moderator – Sumesh Arora
Christopher Wright, Idaho National Laboratory
Dana Mitchell, U.S. Forest Service
Dr. James Rawlins, USM Polymer Science
5:30 p.m. Networking Reception/Student Poster Voting - Ballroom

Tuesday – April 15, 2008

7:15 a.m. Group Breakfast Buffet - Ballroom
8:00 a.m. From Conception to Construction: Assessing Bio-Based Opportunities
Moderator – Les Goff
Sam Shepard, Missing Link Technologies, LLC
Stan Parton, The Parton Group
Kenneth “Pete” Moss, Frazier, Barnes & Associates LLC
9:00 a.m. Opportunities for Bio-Based Energy and Industries: Where do we go now? - Meeting Room 1-5
Marvin Burchfield, Decker Energy International
9:30 a.m. Student Recognition Session - Ballroom
Student Poster Winners
Student Scholarship Winner
9:40 a.m. Break with Exhibitors - Ballroom
10:00 a.m. Morning Keynote - Meeting Room 1-5
Moderator – Andy Whittington
Dr. Eric Clark, MS State Board of Community and Junior Colleges
10:30 a.m. Woody Biomass Utilization in Mississippi: Opportunities for Bioenergy and Bio-Based Products
Moderator – Dr. Glen Hughes
Dr. Donald Grebner, MSU Dept. of Forestry
Dr. Philip Steele, MSU Dept. of Forest Products
Dr. Randy Rousseu, MSU Dept. of Forestry
11:45 a.m. Wrap up and Closing Remarks
Brent Bailey
12:00 a.m. Mississippi Biomass Council Annual Meeting - Ballroom
Working Lunch for Mississippi Biomass Council Members
Guest Speaker – Motice Bruce, MDA-Energy Division